# Texas Southern University: Communications (bachelor's)

Houston, TX. IPEDS 229063, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/texas-southern-university/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: not reported
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $40,687 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $38,783 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in TX: 33 of 36 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (36 colleges, $50,274): -$9,587
- Versus the U.S. median: -$13,596

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.93 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $40,687 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,437 | $81,034 | 11.3 years |
| 30-48k | $21,115 | $104,097 | 14.5 years |
| 48-75k | $21,280 | $104,910 | 14.6 years |
| 75-110k | $22,698 | $111,901 | 15.6 years |
| 110k+ | $21,610 | $106,537 | 14.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Texas at Austin | $72,210 | $20,500 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $64,533 | $17,782 | $21,315 | 84% |
| Texas Christian University | $63,531 | $21,500 | $36,660 | 86% |
| The University of Texas Permian Basin | $60,805 | $22,852 | $12,723 | 40% |
| Trinity University | $59,494 | $25,340 | $23,464 | 84% |
| Southwestern University | $59,372 | $26,000 | $29,224 | 73% |
| Baylor University | $58,915 | $23,860 | $41,104 | 80% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | $58,451 | not reported | $9,403 | 50% |
| Texas Tech University | $58,196 | $25,000 | $19,070 | 69% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | $56,903 | $28,375 | $10,542 | 33% |
| Saint Edward's University | $54,558 | $25,000 | $25,578 | 63% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio | $53,267 | $22,923 | $10,836 | 53% |
| Texas State University | $53,009 | $24,250 | $16,805 | 55% |
| University of Houston-Victoria | $52,435 | $20,625 | $8,109 | 26% |
| University of St Thomas | $50,859 | not reported | $19,359 | 69% |
| Texas A&M University-San Antonio | $50,856 | $20,500 | $11,196 | 40% |
| Tarleton State University | $50,385 | $22,368 | $20,783 | 48% |
| Stephen F Austin State University | $50,302 | $24,000 | $14,260 | 53% |
| The University of Texas at Tyler | $50,247 | $15,021 | $13,323 | 54% |
| Sam Houston State University | $50,125 | $26,000 | $16,404 | 55% |
| University of Houston-Clear Lake | $49,841 | $19,829 | $15,563 | 52% |
| Lamar University | $49,746 | $25,669 | $9,366 | 37% |
| University of Houston | $49,545 | $24,777 | $14,276 | 65% |
| University of Mary Hardin-Baylor | $49,545 | $23,000 | $26,106 | 49% |
| Abilene Christian University | $49,202 | not reported | $26,182 | 59% |
| Prairie View A & M University | $48,887 | $29,750 | $13,570 | 43% |
| Dallas Baptist University | $48,598 | $22,831 | $28,516 | 57% |
| Midwestern State University | $47,651 | $26,000 | $11,656 | 43% |
| West Texas A & M University | $47,009 | not reported | $19,487 | 55% |
| Angelo State University | $43,002 | $21,369 | $15,091 | 44% |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi | $42,921 | $26,000 | $15,225 | 40% |
| Texas A & M International University | $41,350 | $17,100 | $3,637 | 47% |
| Texas Southern University | $40,687 | $38,783 | $16,590 | 22% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | $39,940 | $11,956 | $4,831 | 51% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | $39,660 | $27,000 | $22,775 | 51% |
| Texas A&M University-Kingsville | $37,038 | $20,519 | $12,090 | 42% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $68,320 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $65,160 TX, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $61,410 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $60,320 TX, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $29,040 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $45,950 TX, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
