# Tennessee Technological University: Civil Engineering (bachelor's)

Cookeville, TN. IPEDS 221847, CIP 14.08. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/tennessee-technological-university/majors/civil-engineering

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $63,577
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $78,646 (U.S. median for this major: $85,097 across 233 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,870 (U.S. median $24,708)
- Rank in TN: 5 of 5 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TN median for this major (5 colleges, $80,958): -$2,312
- Versus the U.S. median: -$6,451

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.42 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $78,646 minus $34,518 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,815 | $43,382 | 1.0 years |
| 30-48k | $10,445 | $46,167 | 1.0 years |
| 48-75k | $13,861 | $61,266 | 1.4 years |
| 75-110k | $17,245 | $76,223 | 1.7 years |
| 110k+ | $18,936 | $83,697 | 1.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Civil Engineering at TN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga | $91,615 | $20,747 | $14,265 | 50% |
| Vanderbilt University | $82,744 | not reported | $15,846 | 94% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville | $80,958 | $21,450 | $18,976 | 74% |
| University of Memphis | $79,598 | $29,750 | $12,397 | 51% |
| Tennessee Technological University | $78,646 | $20,870 | $14,246 | 58% |

## Careers
- Civil engineer (SOC 17-2050): median wage not reported metro, $95,910 TN, $100,840 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.4% by 2035
- Architectural and Engineering Managers (SOC 11-9041): median wage not reported metro, $161,430 TN, $171,270 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Environmental Engineers (SOC 17-2081): median wage not reported metro, $97,190 TN, $107,110 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.3% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
