# SUNY Buffalo State University: Theatre (bachelor's)

Buffalo, NY. IPEDS 196130, CIP 50.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/suny-buffalo-state-university/majors/theatre

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $19,608
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $39,863 (U.S. median for this major: $40,085 across 251 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $21,810 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NY: 16 of 29 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (29 colleges, $39,974): -$111
- Versus the U.S. median: -$222

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.37 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $39,863 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,405 | $32,360 | 6.2 years |
| 30-48k | $9,393 | $41,047 | 7.8 years |
| 48-75k | $14,706 | $64,265 | 12.3 years |
| 75-110k | $17,155 | $74,967 | 14.3 years |
| 110k+ | $19,332 | $84,481 | 16.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Theatre at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manhattanville University | $48,629 | not reported | $20,991 | 58% |
| Binghamton University | $47,945 | $20,500 | $21,620 | 82% |
| Ithaca College | $46,563 | $26,000 | $33,926 | 76% |
| Fordham University | $46,317 | $27,000 | $44,338 | 82% |
| University at Buffalo | $45,677 | $26,637 | $20,995 | 75% |
| Hofstra University | $44,388 | $26,000 | $34,176 | 69% |
| Syracuse University | $44,045 | $27,000 | $38,793 | 84% |
| Long Island University | $43,904 | $26,000 | $33,062 | 57% |
| New York University | $42,348 | $21,762 | $37,050 | 88% |
| CUNY New York City College of Technology | $41,880 | $6,000 | $5,127 | 22% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College | $41,233 | not reported | $3,103 | 54% |
| Skidmore College | $40,351 | not reported | $32,297 | 83% |
| Vassar College | $40,165 | $20,000 | $39,343 | 91% |
| Marymount Manhattan College | $40,086 | $27,000 | $36,861 | 49% |
| SUNY at Purchase College | $39,974 | $26,000 | $18,913 | 63% |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | $39,863 | $21,810 | $11,346 | 33% |
| SUNY at Fredonia | $39,770 | $27,000 | $15,897 | 50% |
| Wagner College | $39,664 | $27,000 | $28,241 | 65% |
| State University of New York at New Paltz | $39,521 | $23,453 | $18,809 | 72% |
| The New School | $39,248 | $25,000 | $58,741 | 69% |
| Adelphi University | $37,630 | $24,125 | $30,783 | 67% |
| Pace University | $37,213 | $27,000 | $30,892 | 60% |
| Nazareth University | $36,117 | $27,000 | $29,357 | 73% |
| Molloy University | $34,822 | $27,000 | $24,347 | 70% |
| Le Moyne College | $34,283 | not reported | $22,277 | 73% |
| SUNY College at Potsdam | $33,581 | $26,208 | $13,624 | 45% |
| CUNY City College | $32,769 | $17,739 | $3,776 | 57% |
| American Musical and Dramatic Academy | $32,008 | $27,000 | $41,416 | 72% |
| CUNY Queens College | $31,239 | not reported | $4,195 | 53% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage $79,450 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, $107,550 NY, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Writers and Authors (SOC 27-3043): median wage $65,630 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, not reported NY, $76,910 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.3% by 2035
- Fashion Designers (SOC 27-1022): median wage $78,360 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, $98,640 NY, $80,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs 0.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
