# State University of New York at Oswego: Zoology / Animal Biology (bachelor's)

Oswego, NY. IPEDS 196194, CIP 26.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/state-university-of-new-york-at-oswego/majors/zoology-animal-biology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $27,922
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $40,755 (U.S. median for this major: $44,201 across 52 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,688 (U.S. median $24,393)
- Rank in NY: 2 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (3 colleges, $40,755): +$0
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,446

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $40,755 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,714 | $36,860 | 6.0 years |
| 30-48k | $11,681 | $49,411 | 8.1 years |
| 48-75k | $17,412 | $73,653 | 12.0 years |
| 75-110k | $19,053 | $80,594 | 13.2 years |
| 110k+ | $23,087 | $97,658 | 16.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Zoology / Animal Biology at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry | $42,505 | not reported | $18,952 | 66% |
| State University of New York at Oswego | $40,755 | $24,688 | $16,236 | 60% |
| Canisius University | $40,174 | $25,000 | $17,940 | 66% |

## Careers
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage $130,190 Syracuse, NY, $134,680 NY, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Biological Technicians (SOC 19-4021): median wage $63,060 Syracuse, NY, $61,210 NY, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Zoologists and Wildlife Biologists (SOC 19-1023): median wage not reported Syracuse, NY, $82,640 NY, $76,780 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
