# State University of New York at New Paltz: Broadcasting / Digital Media (bachelor's)

New Paltz, NY. IPEDS 196176, CIP 09.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/state-university-of-new-york-at-new-paltz/majors/broadcasting-digital-media

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $23,551
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $47,453 (U.S. median for this major: $49,542 across 156 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $21,500 (U.S. median $24,289)
- Rank in NY: 13 of 19 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (19 colleges, $55,796): -$8,343
- Versus the U.S. median: -$2,089

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.22 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $47,453 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,541 | $44,483 | 3.5 years |
| 30-48k | $13,969 | $58,949 | 4.6 years |
| 48-75k | $20,178 | $85,151 | 6.6 years |
| 75-110k | $21,937 | $92,574 | 7.2 years |
| 110k+ | $26,256 | $110,800 | 8.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Broadcasting / Digital Media at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rochester Institute of Technology | $91,222 | $27,000 | $34,906 | 70% |
| Fordham University | $84,366 | $23,230 | $44,338 | 82% |
| New York University | $77,109 | $21,500 | $37,050 | 88% |
| CUNY City College | $72,068 | not reported | $3,776 | 57% |
| Syracuse University | $70,815 | $27,000 | $38,793 | 84% |
| The New School | $64,018 | $22,375 | $58,741 | 69% |
| Ithaca College | $58,804 | $23,921 | $33,926 | 76% |
| Hofstra University | $56,990 | $25,000 | $34,176 | 69% |
| Manhattanville University | $56,117 | not reported | $20,991 | 58% |
| St Bonaventure University | $55,796 | $26,000 | $27,074 | 67% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College | $51,404 | $13,820 | $3,103 | 54% |
| State University of New York at Oswego | $48,489 | $23,665 | $16,236 | 60% |
| State University of New York at New Paltz | $47,453 | $21,500 | $18,809 | 72% |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | $46,224 | not reported | $11,346 | 33% |
| SUNY at Fredonia | $45,784 | $27,000 | $15,897 | 50% |
| State University of New York at Plattsburgh | $45,121 | $25,822 | $17,156 | 59% |
| Canisius University | $39,148 | $20,250 | $17,940 | 66% |
| New York Institute of Technology | $37,095 | not reported | $22,443 | 59% |
| Long Island University | $34,304 | not reported | $33,062 | 57% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage $74,520 Kingston, NY, $107,550 NY, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Web and Digital Interface Designers (SOC 15-1255): median wage not reported Kingston, NY, $120,990 NY, $104,000 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035
- News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists (SOC 27-3023): median wage not reported Kingston, NY, $100,770 NY, $62,200 U.S.; U.S. jobs -5.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
