# St Olaf College: Ethnic / Gender Studies (bachelor's)

Northfield, MN. IPEDS 174844, CIP 05.02. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/st-olaf-college/majors/ethnic-gender-studies

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $28,288
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $54,100 (U.S. median for this major: $51,565 across 103 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,480 (U.S. median $22,938)
- Rank in MN: 1 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MN median for this major (4 colleges, $50,000): +$4,100
- Versus the U.S. median: +$2,535

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.05 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $54,100 minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,404 | $42,136 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $11,342 | $45,935 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $12,584 | $50,965 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $20,367 | $82,486 | 5.2 years |
| 110k+ | $33,166 | $134,322 | 8.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Ethnic / Gender Studies at MN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| St Olaf College | $54,100 | $23,480 | $23,874 | 84% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato | $50,694 | $24,585 | $19,139 | 54% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities | $49,305 | $21,964 | $16,778 | 85% |
| Metropolitan State University | $45,801 | not reported | $16,863 | 44% |

## Careers
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage not reported metro, $66,410 MN, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
