# Southern Utah University: Communications (bachelor's)

Cedar City, UT. IPEDS 230603, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southern-utah-university/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $32,951
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $44,461 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $13,900 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in UT: 8 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the UT median for this major (8 colleges, $59,822): -$15,361
- Versus the U.S. median: -$9,822

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.47 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $44,461 minus $38,580 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in UT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $6,070 | $27,133 | 4.6 years |
| 30-48k | $7,235 | $32,340 | 5.5 years |
| 48-75k | $9,297 | $41,558 | 7.1 years |
| 75-110k | $12,487 | $55,817 | 9.5 years |
| 110k+ | $14,917 | $66,679 | 11.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at UT colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brigham Young University | $68,843 | $22,530 | $15,564 | 81% |
| University of Utah | $63,309 | $18,017 | $16,200 | 65% |
| Utah Valley University | $62,566 | $14,200 | $6,376 | 45% |
| Weber State University | $59,969 | $16,566 | $10,258 | 46% |
| Westminster University | $59,676 | $24,454 | $27,094 | 64% |
| Utah State University | $58,672 | $14,750 | $14,936 | 59% |
| Utah Tech University | $50,755 | $20,500 | $16,039 | 38% |
| Southern Utah University | $44,461 | $13,900 | $10,462 | 61% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage not reported metro, $62,670 UT, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage not reported metro, $61,820 UT, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage not reported metro, $65,040 UT, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
