# Southern University Law Center: Mechanical Engineering (bachelor's)

Baton Rouge, LA. IPEDS 440916, CIP 14.19. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southern-university-law-center/majors/mechanical-engineering

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $75,001
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $92,969 (U.S. median for this major: $91,190 across 316 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $29,500 (U.S. median $24,876)
- Rank in LA: 3 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the LA median for this major (6 colleges, $92,713): +$256
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,779

## Mechanical Engineering at LA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College | $99,975 | $18,500 | $19,151 | 69% |
| Southern University and A & M College | $92,969 | $29,500 | $20,077 | 27% |
| Southern University Law Center | $92,969 | $29,500 | not reported | not reported |
| Louisiana Tech University | $92,457 | $26,400 | $11,864 | 64% |
| University of New Orleans | $91,435 | $19,000 | $12,384 | 38% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | $91,187 | $22,175 | $13,530 | 53% |

## Careers
- Mechanical engineer (SOC 17-2140): median wage $135,530 Baton Rouge, LA, $119,540 LA, $104,110 U.S.; U.S. jobs 11.2% by 2035
- Cost Estimators (SOC 13-1051): median wage $84,710 Baton Rouge, LA, $77,030 LA, $78,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs -3.1% by 2035
- Architectural and Engineering Managers (SOC 11-9041): median wage $165,060 Baton Rouge, LA, $162,850 LA, $171,270 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
