# Southern University and A & M College: Computer Science (bachelor's)

Baton Rouge, LA. IPEDS 160621, CIP 11.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southern-university-and-a-and-m-college/majors/computer-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $45,907
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $58,951 (U.S. median for this major: $100,157 across 339 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $30,250 (U.S. median $23,365)
- Rank in LA: 9 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the LA median for this major (10 colleges, $81,902): -$22,951
- Versus the U.S. median: -$41,206

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.85 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $58,951 minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,047 | $92,378 | 3.5 years |
| 30-48k | $19,395 | $94,066 | 3.6 years |
| 48-75k | $22,288 | $108,097 | 4.1 years |
| 75-110k | $25,292 | $122,666 | 4.6 years |
| 110k+ | $26,069 | $126,435 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer Science at LA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tulane University of Louisiana | $118,931 | $19,000 | $39,949 | 86% |
| University of New Orleans | $99,548 | $16,604 | $12,384 | 38% |
| Louisiana Tech University | $96,365 | $22,875 | $11,864 | 64% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College | $89,307 | $21,562 | $19,151 | 69% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | $83,527 | $23,000 | $13,530 | 53% |
| Louisiana State University-Shreveport | $80,276 | $28,992 | $7,022 | 38% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University | $72,410 | $22,824 | $13,154 | 45% |
| McNeese State University | $64,834 | not reported | $12,493 | 47% |
| Southern University and A & M College | $58,951 | $30,250 | $20,077 | 27% |
| Southern University Law Center | $58,951 | $30,250 | not reported | not reported |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $101,900 Baton Rouge, LA, $102,800 LA, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $120,210 Baton Rouge, LA, $127,500 LA, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage $78,760 Baton Rouge, LA, $78,760 LA, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
