# Southern Illinois University-Carbondale: Kinesiology / Exercise Science (bachelor's)

Carbondale, IL. IPEDS 149222, CIP 31.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/southern-illinois-university-carbondale/majors/kinesiology-exercise-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $29,258
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $55,039 (U.S. median for this major: $53,336 across 602 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $22,750 (U.S. median $25,752)
- Rank in IL: 8 of 19 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IL median for this major (19 colleges, $53,576): +$1,463
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,703

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.32 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $55,039 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,415 | $40,673 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $8,497 | $36,707 | 1.9 years |
| 48-75k | $10,308 | $44,531 | 2.3 years |
| 75-110k | $17,724 | $76,568 | 4.0 years |
| 110k+ | $23,254 | $100,457 | 5.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Kinesiology / Exercise Science at IL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | $67,782 | $21,425 | $14,355 | 85% |
| Elmhurst University | $66,244 | $23,375 | $24,185 | 70% |
| Illinois State University | $62,112 | $21,250 | $19,398 | 65% |
| North Central College | $60,018 | $27,000 | $21,044 | 64% |
| Benedictine University | $56,576 | $26,000 | $22,313 | 50% |
| Concordia University-Chicago | $55,309 | $26,166 | $18,436 | 37% |
| University of Illinois Chicago | $55,247 | $16,750 | $10,974 | 62% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale | $55,039 | $22,750 | $13,297 | 62% |
| Northern Illinois University | $54,207 | $27,418 | $13,391 | 49% |
| Western Illinois University | $53,576 | $31,000 | $12,937 | 45% |
| McKendree University | $52,784 | $27,000 | $24,717 | 53% |
| Lewis University | $51,021 | $26,000 | $17,028 | 67% |
| Eastern Illinois University | $50,502 | $25,000 | $12,786 | 47% |
| Monmouth College | $50,093 | $25,757 | $17,133 | 65% |
| Southern Illinois University Edwardsville | $49,837 | $23,237 | $14,889 | 57% |
| Aurora University | $49,471 | $27,000 | $18,838 | 60% |
| Millikin University | $48,665 | $27,000 | $21,989 | 55% |
| Olivet Nazarene University | $47,435 | $27,000 | $20,729 | 61% |
| North Park University | $44,098 | $25,495 | $16,948 | 58% |

## Careers
- Coaches and Scouts (SOC 27-2022): median wage not reported metro, $49,120 IL, $47,320 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.1% by 2035
- Entertainment and Recreation Managers, Except Gambling (SOC 11-9072): median wage not reported metro, $77,310 IL, $79,520 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035
- Exercise Physiologists (SOC 29-1128): median wage not reported metro, $60,130 IL, $59,460 U.S.; U.S. jobs 12.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
