# Savannah State University: Psychology (Research) (bachelor's)

Savannah, GA. IPEDS 140960, CIP 42.27. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/savannah-state-university/majors/psychology-research

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $27,763
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $48,594 (U.S. median for this major: $56,830 across 82 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $33,450 (U.S. median $21,000)
- Rank in GA: 3 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the GA median for this major (4 colleges, $51,518): -$2,924
- Versus the U.S. median: -$8,236

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.47 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $48,594 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in GA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $6,739 | $30,123 | 2.0 years |
| 30-48k | $7,033 | $31,438 | 2.1 years |
| 48-75k | $9,882 | $44,173 | 2.9 years |
| 75-110k | $12,694 | $56,742 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $12,597 | $56,309 | 3.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Psychology (Research) at GA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia Institute of Technology | $83,012 | not reported | $12,116 | 94% |
| Georgia College & State University | $54,441 | $24,500 | $20,686 | 64% |
| Savannah State University | $48,594 | $33,450 | $8,172 | 28% |
| University of North Georgia | $47,919 | $22,749 | $9,823 | 37% |

## Careers
- Child, Family, and School Social Workers (SOC 21-1021): median wage $48,340 Savannah, GA, $47,510 GA, $59,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.4% by 2035
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported Savannah, GA, $66,620 GA, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
