# Sam Houston State University: Public Health (bachelor's)

Huntsville, TX. IPEDS 227881, CIP 51.22. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/sam-houston-state-university/majors/public-health

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,019
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $50,970 (U.S. median for this major: $58,662 across 192 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,818 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in TX: 6 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (8 colleges, $53,313): -$2,343
- Versus the U.S. median: -$7,692

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.44 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $50,970 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,474 | $55,385 | 3.2 years |
| 30-48k | $13,389 | $59,447 | 3.4 years |
| 48-75k | $15,540 | $68,998 | 4.0 years |
| 75-110k | $21,366 | $94,865 | 5.4 years |
| 110k+ | $24,101 | $107,008 | 6.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Public Health at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $66,732 | $18,856 | $21,315 | 84% |
| The University of Texas at Austin | $61,390 | $21,500 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas State University | $54,229 | $26,710 | $16,805 | 55% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio | $54,188 | $24,885 | $10,836 | 53% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | $52,438 | $23,000 | $10,542 | 33% |
| Sam Houston State University | $50,970 | $26,818 | $16,404 | 55% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | $44,665 | $24,250 | $9,403 | 50% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | $43,524 | $31,000 | $22,775 | 51% |

## Careers
- Health education specialist (SOC 21-1091): median wage not reported metro, $59,340 TX, $64,070 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.6% by 2035
- Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111): median wage not reported metro, $114,150 TX, $123,860 U.S.; U.S. jobs 24.2% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $75,370 TX, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
