# Prairie View A & M University: Agriculture (bachelor's)

Prairie View, TX. IPEDS 227526, CIP 01.00. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/prairie-view-a-and-m-university/majors/agriculture

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $38,063
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $49,403 (U.S. median for this major: $52,932 across 43 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $28,500 (U.S. median $20,699)
- Rank in TX: 8 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (8 colleges, $57,794): -$8,391
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,529

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.7 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $49,403 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,120 | $56,964 | 3.6 years |
| 30-48k | $13,465 | $63,286 | 4.0 years |
| 48-75k | $16,024 | $75,313 | 4.7 years |
| 75-110k | $17,753 | $83,439 | 5.3 years |
| 110k+ | $16,376 | $76,967 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Agriculture at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas State University | $71,237 | $20,699 | $16,805 | 55% |
| Sam Houston State University | $60,598 | $19,125 | $16,404 | 55% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $59,213 | $18,585 | $21,315 | 84% |
| Texas A&M University-Kingsville | $58,245 | $22,875 | $12,090 | 42% |
| Texas Tech University | $57,343 | $27,000 | $19,070 | 69% |
| East Texas A&M University | $51,983 | $20,500 | $11,841 | 43% |
| West Texas A & M University | $50,396 | $13,460 | $19,487 | 55% |
| Prairie View A & M University | $49,403 | $28,500 | $13,570 | 43% |

## Careers
- Soil and Plant Scientists (SOC 19-1013): median wage not reported Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, not reported TX, $78,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
