# Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Wilkes-Barre: Communications (bachelor's)

Dallas, PA. IPEDS 214643, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/pennsylvania-state-university-penn-state-wilkes-barre/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,181
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $55,505 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,875 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in PA: 12 of 45 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the PA median for this major (46 colleges, $54,541): +$964
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,222

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.44 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $55,505 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,795 | $43,490 | 2.2 years |
| 30-48k | $11,760 | $52,214 | 2.6 years |
| 48-75k | $15,570 | $69,131 | 3.5 years |
| 75-110k | $17,530 | $77,833 | 3.9 years |
| 110k+ | $22,027 | $97,800 | 5.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at PA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Pennsylvania | $114,266 | $15,637 | $28,699 | 97% |
| Villanova University | $81,497 | $26,456 | $43,756 | 92% |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus | $69,573 | $27,000 | $30,434 | 86% |
| Washington & Jefferson College | $68,066 | $27,000 | $25,002 | 70% |
| La Salle University | $61,347 | $26,924 | $19,409 | 57% |
| Ursinus College | $61,017 | $27,000 | $30,536 | 73% |
| Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia | $59,929 | $26,990 | $29,689 | 79% |
| Muhlenberg College | $58,473 | $24,250 | $28,905 | 82% |
| Eastern University | $58,371 | $26,000 | $26,662 | 54% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend College | $55,505 | $25,875 | $24,558 | 44% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State New Kensington | $55,505 | $25,875 | $18,305 | 28% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Wilkes-Barre | $55,505 | $25,875 | $16,448 | 23% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Altoona | $55,505 | $25,875 | $22,213 | 17% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Beaver | $55,505 | $25,875 | $17,418 | 22% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Berks | $55,505 | $25,875 | $24,356 | 32% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Harrisburg | $55,505 | $25,875 | $23,330 | 26% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Brandywine | $55,505 | $25,875 | $22,585 | 26% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Fayette- Eberly | $55,505 | $25,875 | $14,596 | 39% |
| Pennsylvania State University | $55,505 | $25,875 | $32,875 | 86% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Greater Allegheny | $55,505 | $25,875 | $15,521 | 19% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State York | $55,505 | $25,875 | $19,047 | 16% |
| Juniata College | $54,716 | $27,000 | $23,988 | 74% |
| Allegheny College | $54,366 | $27,000 | $22,940 | 73% |
| Temple University | $54,283 | $24,880 | $28,198 | 75% |
| Kutztown University of Pennsylvania | $54,173 | $26,000 | $21,331 | 54% |
| East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania | $53,559 | $26,000 | $18,134 | 43% |
| Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania | $52,825 | $27,000 | $15,699 | 55% |
| Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania | $52,762 | $26,000 | $19,608 | 66% |
| Duquesne University | $50,794 | not reported | $37,730 | 78% |
| Albright College | $50,531 | $27,000 | $20,024 | 51% |
| Saint Vincent College | $50,341 | $27,000 | $23,510 | 69% |
| King's College | $49,930 | $27,000 | $23,093 | 60% |
| Elizabethtown College | $49,514 | $26,000 | $26,598 | 76% |
| Millersville University of Pennsylvania | $48,330 | $26,000 | $20,787 | 58% |
| Pennsylvania Western University | $48,116 | not reported | $18,256 | 52% |
| Holy Family University | $47,047 | not reported | $13,143 | 61% |
| York College of Pennsylvania | $46,976 | $26,000 | $18,556 | 64% |
| Neumann University | $46,653 | $27,375 | $27,804 | 54% |
| Waynesburg University | $45,152 | $27,000 | $18,235 | 66% |
| Indiana University of Pennsylvania | $43,582 | $27,000 | $16,804 | 56% |
| Chestnut Hill College | $43,323 | $27,000 | $27,970 | 49% |
| Geneva College | $42,458 | not reported | $25,890 | 61% |
| Chatham University | $42,204 | $19,500 | $29,954 | 63% |
| Arcadia University | $40,740 | $27,000 | $29,466 | 67% |
| Lycoming College | $33,916 | $27,000 | $19,140 | 60% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $51,730 Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA, $57,460 PA, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $58,300 Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA, $63,730 PA, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $60,110 Scranton--Wilkes-Barre, PA, $63,460 PA, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
