# Oregon State University: English (bachelor's)

Corvallis, OR. IPEDS 209542, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/oregon-state-university/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $29,154
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $42,541 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,667 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in OR: 6 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the OR median for this major (9 colleges, $43,342): -$801
- Versus the U.S. median: -$6,407

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.39 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $42,541 minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OR (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,107 | $53,150 | 8.9 years |
| 30-48k | $13,036 | $57,228 | 9.6 years |
| 48-75k | $15,729 | $69,050 | 11.5 years |
| 75-110k | $20,262 | $88,950 | 14.8 years |
| 110k+ | $27,459 | $120,545 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at OR colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Willamette University | $50,060 | $20,250 | $25,121 | 71% |
| Southern Oregon University | $49,706 | $21,500 | $16,732 | 43% |
| University of Portland | $49,434 | $20,057 | $28,210 | 80% |
| University of Oregon | $47,639 | $23,375 | $22,182 | 72% |
| Portland State University | $43,342 | $24,546 | $9,552 | 53% |
| Oregon State University | $42,541 | $23,667 | $19,604 | 70% |
| Oregon State University-Cascades Campus | $42,541 | $23,667 | $18,048 | 56% |
| Lewis & Clark College | $39,705 | $25,750 | $36,013 | 75% |
| Corban University | $36,779 | $27,000 | $28,035 | 61% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $75,730 Corvallis, OR, $79,570 OR, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported Corvallis, OR, not reported OR, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
