# Ohio University-Southern Campus: Communications (bachelor's)

Ironton, OH. IPEDS 204839, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/ohio-university-southern-campus/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $36,666
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $54,695 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,063 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in OH: 13 of 33 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the OH median for this major (33 colleges, $53,800): +$895
- Versus the U.S. median: +$412

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.15 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $54,695 minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OH (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $4,649 | $19,293 | 1.0 years |
| 30-48k | $4,943 | $20,513 | 1.1 years |
| 48-75k | $5,297 | $21,983 | 1.1 years |
| 75-110k | $8,332 | $34,578 | 1.8 years |
| 110k+ | $8,753 | $36,325 | 1.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at OH colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Dayton | $67,231 | $25,375 | $29,533 | 80% |
| Denison University | $66,730 | $25,187 | $40,007 | 79% |
| John Carroll University | $62,270 | $27,000 | $28,746 | 79% |
| Ohio State University | $62,096 | $23,500 | $17,339 | 88% |
| The College of Wooster | $60,884 | $22,681 | $23,458 | 74% |
| University of Cincinnati | $56,818 | $23,816 | $25,648 | 75% |
| Wittenberg University | $56,711 | $27,000 | $18,649 | 53% |
| Miami University-Hamilton | $55,919 | $21,500 | $11,286 | 25% |
| Miami University-Middletown | $55,919 | $21,500 | $10,809 | 32% |
| Miami University-Oxford | $55,919 | $21,500 | $28,384 | 80% |
| Ohio University-Eastern Campus | $54,695 | $24,063 | $3,925 | 21% |
| Ohio University-Chillicothe Campus | $54,695 | $24,063 | $5,755 | 14% |
| Ohio University-Southern Campus | $54,695 | $24,063 | $5,993 | 21% |
| Ohio University-Lancaster Campus | $54,695 | $24,063 | $5,650 | 14% |
| Ohio University | $54,695 | $24,063 | $21,637 | 66% |
| Ohio University-Zanesville Campus | $54,695 | $24,063 | $5,746 | 22% |
| Xavier University | $53,800 | $26,825 | $32,997 | 69% |
| Baldwin Wallace University | $51,698 | $27,000 | $27,603 | 67% |
| Otterbein University | $51,006 | $18,500 | $19,237 | 68% |
| Heidelberg University | $50,626 | $27,000 | $20,556 | 52% |
| Kent State University at Ashtabula | $49,375 | $26,000 | $12,205 | 25% |
| Kent State University at East Liverpool | $49,375 | $26,000 | $13,392 | 26% |
| Kent State University at Stark | $49,375 | $26,000 | $10,897 | 37% |
| Kent State University at Trumbull | $49,375 | $26,000 | $11,135 | 32% |
| Kent State University at Tuscarawas | $49,375 | $26,000 | $12,542 | 38% |
| Kent State University at Salem | $49,375 | $26,000 | $13,799 | 31% |
| Kent State University at Kent | $49,375 | $26,000 | $20,787 | 64% |
| Cleveland State University | $48,688 | $27,500 | $14,764 | 51% |
| University of Toledo | $47,659 | $25,500 | $17,249 | 57% |
| Walsh University | $46,374 | $27,000 | $20,493 | 59% |
| Franciscan University of Steubenville | $42,188 | $24,953 | $23,589 | 76% |
| Wright State University | $40,908 | $26,000 | $15,415 | 42% |
| Cedarville University | $34,958 | not reported | $24,468 | 73% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $52,000 Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH, $64,840 OH, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $53,190 Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH, $64,080 OH, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage not reported Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH, $72,160 OH, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
