# North Carolina A & T State University: Computer Science (bachelor's)

Greensboro, NC. IPEDS 199102, CIP 11.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/north-carolina-a-and-t-state-university/majors/computer-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $81,174
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $105,342 (U.S. median for this major: $100,157 across 339 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,302 (U.S. median $23,365)
- Rank in NC: 5 of 17 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NC median for this major (17 colleges, $93,037): +$12,305
- Versus the U.S. median: +$5,185

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.48 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $105,342 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,223 | $36,839 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $9,462 | $42,390 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $11,973 | $53,639 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $16,454 | $73,714 | 1.0 years |
| 110k+ | $17,311 | $77,553 | 1.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer Science at NC colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duke University | $195,809 | $13,500 | $29,612 | 97% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | $137,047 | $14,131 | $11,655 | 91% |
| Wake Forest University | $115,493 | $20,674 | $28,719 | 89% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh | $113,478 | $21,073 | $17,303 | 85% |
| North Carolina A & T State University | $105,342 | $26,302 | $10,846 | 57% |
| East Carolina University | $98,406 | $27,000 | $15,739 | 63% |
| Appalachian State University | $97,670 | $22,500 | $16,836 | 75% |
| Winston-Salem State University | $94,298 | $30,721 | $13,479 | 47% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte | $93,037 | $23,250 | $15,435 | 69% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | $88,219 | $24,819 | $20,109 | 71% |
| University of North Carolina Asheville | $88,084 | $23,970 | $12,250 | 55% |
| Western Carolina University | $86,853 | $27,000 | $13,315 | 60% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | $86,372 | $25,000 | $10,965 | 56% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke | $80,579 | $27,000 | $10,260 | 44% |
| Elizabeth City State University | $68,723 | not reported | $6,364 | 44% |
| Gardner-Webb University | $68,175 | not reported | $17,674 | 55% |
| Fayetteville State University | $36,164 | $27,000 | $7,892 | 39% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $125,190 Greensboro-High Point, NC, $134,710 NC, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $163,180 Greensboro-High Point, NC, $172,860 NC, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage $106,060 Greensboro-High Point, NC, $119,090 NC, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
