# Nicholls State University: Nursing (bachelor's)

Thibodaux, LA. IPEDS 159966, CIP 51.38. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/nicholls-state-university/majors/nursing

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $78,065
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $79,428 (U.S. median for this major: $85,212 across 858 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,631 (U.S. median $27,000)
- Rank in LA: 13 of 15 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the LA median for this major (15 colleges, $86,608): -$7,180
- Versus the U.S. median: -$5,784

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.52 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $79,428 minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,714 | $48,427 | 1.0 years |
| 30-48k | $10,527 | $47,582 | 1.0 years |
| 48-75k | $12,139 | $54,868 | 1.2 years |
| 75-110k | $16,784 | $75,864 | 1.6 years |
| 110k+ | $17,954 | $81,152 | 1.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Nursing at LA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | $91,270 | $27,000 | $13,530 | 53% |
| Herzing University-New Orleans | $91,010 | $43,985 | $21,269 | 15% |
| Dillard University | $90,661 | not reported | $22,094 | 43% |
| Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University | $88,618 | $39,565 | $18,552 | 46% |
| Louisiana State University-Alexandria | $87,651 | $28,143 | $7,065 | 34% |
| Southern University and A & M College | $86,838 | $39,678 | $20,077 | 27% |
| Southern University Law Center | $86,838 | $39,678 | not reported | not reported |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana | $86,608 | $25,638 | $13,606 | 43% |
| McNeese State University | $85,928 | $26,100 | $12,493 | 47% |
| University of Holy Cross | $83,877 | $43,500 | $15,635 | 49% |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe | $83,058 | $23,550 | $13,466 | 54% |
| Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center-New Orleans | $81,519 | $29,750 | not reported | not reported |
| Nicholls State University | $79,428 | $25,631 | $12,947 | 54% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University | $77,367 | $26,500 | $13,154 | 45% |
| Louisiana Christian University | $76,252 | $41,492 | $13,113 | 44% |

## Careers
- Registered nurse (SOC 29-1140): median wage $75,740 Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux, LA, $80,230 LA, $97,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.6% by 2035
- Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111): median wage $98,310 Houma-Bayou Cane-Thibodaux, LA, $104,550 LA, $123,860 U.S.; U.S. jobs 24.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
