# New York University: Social Sciences, Other (bachelor's)

New York, NY. IPEDS 193900, CIP 45.99. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/new-york-university/majors/social-sciences-other

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $35,772
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $74,983 (U.S. median for this major: $54,888 across 35 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,188 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NY: 1 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (10 colleges, $58,564): +$16,419
- Versus the U.S. median: +$20,095

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.17 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $74,983 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,977 | $70,794 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $14,017 | $58,451 | 1.4 years |
| 48-75k | $16,862 | $70,315 | 1.7 years |
| 75-110k | $32,766 | $136,634 | 3.4 years |
| 110k+ | $66,876 | $278,873 | 6.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Social Sciences, Other at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York University | $74,983 | $20,188 | $37,050 | 88% |
| CUNY Graduate School and University Center | $69,996 | $12,500 | not reported | not reported |
| University of Rochester | $68,333 | $21,366 | $29,278 | 85% |
| Columbia University in the City of New York | $65,085 | $26,000 | $21,590 | 96% |
| St Lawrence University | $60,518 | $27,000 | $28,651 | 79% |
| SUNY Old Westbury | $56,609 | $19,500 | $11,282 | 45% |
| Russell Sage College | $54,363 | $26,865 | $22,917 | 56% |
| CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice | $54,259 | not reported | $3,203 | 56% |
| SUNY Polytechnic Institute | $46,521 | not reported | $14,164 | 55% |
| SUNY at Purchase College | $36,895 | not reported | $18,913 | 63% |

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
