# Mississippi University for Women: Education (Elementary / Secondary) (bachelor's)

Columbus, MS. IPEDS 176035, CIP 13.12. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/mississippi-university-for-women/majors/education-elementary-secondary

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $36,812
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $40,196 (U.S. median for this major: $47,823 across 671 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in MS: 8 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MS median for this major (10 colleges, $41,054): -$858
- Versus the U.S. median: -$7,627

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.42 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $40,196 minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,676 | $47,188 | 4.9 years |
| 30-48k | $10,434 | $46,118 | 4.8 years |
| 48-75k | $13,037 | $57,624 | 6.0 years |
| 75-110k | $17,060 | $75,405 | 7.8 years |
| 110k+ | $19,285 | $85,240 | 8.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Education (Elementary / Secondary) at MS colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jackson State University | $56,747 | $31,000 | $23,836 | 51% |
| Mississippi College | $42,673 | $23,021 | $27,712 | 59% |
| University of Mississippi | $42,535 | $20,470 | $13,314 | 72% |
| William Carey University | $42,389 | $20,754 | $14,258 | 60% |
| Delta State University | $41,177 | $19,500 | $13,540 | 48% |
| University of Southern Mississippi | $40,932 | $24,250 | $21,708 | 49% |
| Mississippi State University | $40,431 | $21,500 | $17,595 | 67% |
| Mississippi University for Women | $40,196 | $27,000 | $12,411 | 47% |
| Blue Mountain Christian University | $39,440 | $22,500 | $24,016 | 55% |
| Rust College | $35,634 | $31,000 | $12,587 | 12% |

## Careers
- Elementary school teacher (SOC 25-2021): median wage not reported metro, $49,790 MS, $63,970 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage not reported metro, $50,980 MS, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Training and Development Specialists (SOC 13-1151): median wage not reported metro, $53,680 MS, $69,280 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
