# Manhattanville University: Sociology (bachelor's)

Purchase, NY. IPEDS 192749, CIP 45.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/manhattanville-university/majors/sociology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $31,551
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $61,752 (U.S. median for this major: $52,120 across 458 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NY: 15 of 41 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (41 colleges, $58,469): +$3,283
- Versus the U.S. median: +$9,632

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.13 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $61,752 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,548 | $55,953 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $15,131 | $62,491 | 2.3 years |
| 48-75k | $18,072 | $74,637 | 2.8 years |
| 75-110k | $23,287 | $96,175 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $27,319 | $112,827 | 4.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sociology at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbia University in the City of New York | $101,536 | $31,000 | $21,590 | 96% |
| Barnard College | $77,821 | $15,899 | $28,800 | 93% |
| New York University | $77,650 | $18,875 | $37,050 | 88% |
| Cornell University | $73,200 | $11,900 | $28,690 | 95% |
| Fordham University | $71,581 | $25,000 | $44,338 | 82% |
| Hobart William Smith Colleges | $67,556 | $26,500 | $31,563 | 77% |
| Wagner College | $67,061 | not reported | $28,241 | 65% |
| Syracuse University | $67,044 | $24,750 | $38,793 | 84% |
| Hartwick College | $65,765 | $27,000 | $31,320 | 53% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College | $65,606 | not reported | $3,103 | 54% |
| SUNY College at Geneseo | $65,234 | $21,226 | $18,211 | 72% |
| Binghamton University | $64,797 | $25,500 | $21,620 | 82% |
| Siena College | $64,070 | not reported | $33,733 | 75% |
| University of Mount Saint Vincent | $61,964 | $25,500 | $21,696 | 57% |
| Manhattanville University | $61,752 | $26,000 | $20,991 | 58% |
| Vassar College | $61,106 | not reported | $39,343 | 91% |
| CUNY York College | $59,899 | $14,650 | $4,456 | 32% |
| Le Moyne College | $59,291 | not reported | $22,277 | 73% |
| Stony Brook University | $58,966 | $21,250 | $18,784 | 76% |
| Hofstra University | $58,483 | $25,968 | $34,176 | 69% |
| Canisius University | $58,469 | not reported | $17,940 | 66% |
| CUNY Hunter College | $57,965 | $10,750 | $2,984 | 57% |
| University at Albany | $57,508 | $24,358 | $17,167 | 62% |
| State University of New York at Plattsburgh | $56,704 | $25,940 | $17,156 | 59% |
| CUNY Queens College | $56,550 | $15,750 | $4,195 | 53% |
| CUNY City College | $55,683 | $11,000 | $3,776 | 57% |
| CUNY Lehman College | $54,906 | $11,247 | $3,148 | 51% |
| University at Buffalo | $54,382 | $18,945 | $20,995 | 75% |
| St Bonaventure University | $53,783 | $26,000 | $27,074 | 67% |
| State University of New York at Cortland | $53,524 | $25,379 | $22,345 | 68% |
| SUNY Oneonta | $53,396 | $22,248 | $19,158 | 69% |
| SUNY at Purchase College | $53,042 | $19,949 | $18,913 | 63% |
| CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice | $51,979 | $14,125 | $3,203 | 56% |
| State University of New York at Oswego | $51,537 | $27,282 | $16,236 | 60% |
| State University of New York at New Paltz | $51,290 | $24,091 | $18,809 | 72% |
| SUNY College at Potsdam | $51,086 | $26,000 | $13,624 | 45% |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | $49,595 | $26,000 | $11,346 | 33% |
| SUNY Old Westbury | $49,308 | $23,503 | $11,282 | 45% |
| SUNY Brockport | $47,738 | $24,456 | $16,353 | 55% |
| Mercy University | $47,552 | not reported | $14,072 | 46% |
| Ithaca College | $38,727 | $25,000 | $33,926 | 76% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage $65,330 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $61,210 NY, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
