# Louisiana Tech University: Electrical Engineering (bachelor's)

Ruston, LA. IPEDS 159647, CIP 14.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/louisiana-tech-university/majors/electrical-engineering

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $71,994
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $99,526 (U.S. median for this major: $98,697 across 257 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $21,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in LA: 1 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the LA median for this major (4 colleges, $96,419): +$3,107
- Versus the U.S. median: +$829

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.36 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $99,526 minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,676 | $33,467 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $8,619 | $37,579 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $11,146 | $48,597 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $15,674 | $68,339 | 1.0 years |
| 110k+ | $16,207 | $70,663 | 1.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Electrical Engineering at LA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Louisiana Tech University | $99,526 | $21,000 | $11,864 | 64% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College | $97,208 | $22,368 | $19,151 | 69% |
| University of New Orleans | $95,630 | $29,312 | $12,384 | 38% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | $84,883 | $25,750 | $13,530 | 53% |

## Careers
- Electrical engineer (SOC 17-2071): median wage not reported metro, $123,710 LA, $120,630 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.9% by 2035
- Architectural and Engineering Managers (SOC 11-9041): median wage not reported metro, $162,850 LA, $171,270 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Computer Hardware Engineers (SOC 17-2061): median wage not reported metro, $83,550 LA, $161,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
