# Jacksonville State University: Computer and Information Sciences (bachelor's)

Jacksonville, AL. IPEDS 101480, CIP 11.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/jacksonville-state-university/majors/computer-and-information-sciences

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $62,795
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $79,129 (U.S. median for this major: $86,698 across 421 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,578 (U.S. median $24,656)
- Rank in AL: 9 of 11 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (11 colleges, $88,490): -$9,361
- Versus the U.S. median: -$7,569

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.47 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $79,129 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,472 | $55,750 | 1.2 years |
| 30-48k | $12,622 | $56,420 | 1.2 years |
| 48-75k | $15,343 | $68,583 | 1.4 years |
| 75-110k | $17,480 | $78,136 | 1.6 years |
| 110k+ | $18,183 | $81,278 | 1.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer and Information Sciences at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama | $115,980 | $22,000 | $22,420 | 73% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $104,654 | $24,000 | $18,749 | 64% |
| Athens State University | $102,639 | $31,060 | not reported | not reported |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | $95,076 | $22,000 | $18,796 | 64% |
| Auburn University | $91,087 | $25,000 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Alabama A & M University | $88,490 | $31,000 | $17,621 | 24% |
| University of North Alabama | $80,423 | $27,000 | $12,170 | 55% |
| Troy University | $79,492 | $27,437 | $16,527 | 50% |
| Jacksonville State University | $79,129 | $23,578 | $14,279 | 55% |
| University of South Alabama | $59,602 | $27,000 | $17,648 | 53% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | $55,184 | $41,176 | $13,224 | 33% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $99,260 Anniston-Oxford, AL, $122,540 AL, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $111,170 Anniston-Oxford, AL, $138,670 AL, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Computer Systems Analysts (SOC 15-1211): median wage not reported Anniston-Oxford, AL, $101,770 AL, $105,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
