# Iowa State University: Journalism (bachelor's)

Ames, IA. IPEDS 153603, CIP 09.04. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/iowa-state-university/majors/journalism

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $39,347
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $53,633 (U.S. median for this major: $54,425 across 185 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,250 (U.S. median $24,250)
- Rank in IA: 3 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IA median for this major (3 colleges, $56,933): -$3,300
- Versus the U.S. median: -$792

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.32 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $53,633 minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,582 | $45,714 | 2.7 years |
| 30-48k | $11,506 | $49,706 | 2.9 years |
| 48-75k | $15,463 | $66,800 | 3.9 years |
| 75-110k | $19,605 | $84,694 | 5.0 years |
| 110k+ | $22,496 | $97,183 | 5.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Journalism at IA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drake University | $62,969 | not reported | $29,127 | 74% |
| University of Iowa | $56,933 | $25,907 | $22,531 | 75% |
| Iowa State University | $53,633 | $23,250 | $18,589 | 75% |

## Careers
- Reporter / journalist (SOC 27-3023): median wage not reported Ames, IA, $43,540 IA, $62,200 U.S.; U.S. jobs -5.9% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage not reported Ames, IA, $57,200 IA, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035
- Film and Video Editors (SOC 27-4032): median wage not reported Ames, IA, $57,220 IA, $75,420 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
