# Hofstra University: Journalism (bachelor's)

Hempstead, NY. IPEDS 191649, CIP 09.04. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/hofstra-university/majors/journalism

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $37,241
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $61,609 (U.S. median for this major: $54,425 across 185 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $24,250)
- Rank in NY: 5 of 17 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (17 colleges, $59,067): +$2,542
- Versus the U.S. median: +$7,184

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.18 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $61,609 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $28,219 | $117,955 | 4.4 years |
| 30-48k | $31,387 | $131,198 | 4.9 years |
| 48-75k | $33,450 | $139,821 | 5.2 years |
| 75-110k | $36,769 | $153,694 | 5.7 years |
| 110k+ | $37,348 | $156,115 | 5.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Journalism at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fordham University | $72,475 | $26,324 | $44,338 | 82% |
| Syracuse University | $70,404 | $27,000 | $38,793 | 84% |
| Stony Brook University | $65,535 | $27,000 | $18,784 | 76% |
| Long Island University | $62,355 | not reported | $33,062 | 57% |
| Hofstra University | $61,609 | $25,000 | $34,176 | 69% |
| Ithaca College | $61,317 | $25,000 | $33,926 | 76% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College | $60,272 | $10,290 | $3,103 | 54% |
| University at Albany | $59,495 | $25,000 | $17,167 | 62% |
| St. John's University-New York | $59,067 | $26,000 | $29,999 | 66% |
| St Bonaventure University | $58,816 | $27,000 | $27,074 | 67% |
| CUNY Bernard M Baruch College | $54,425 | $13,717 | $3,033 | 72% |
| CUNY York College | $53,901 | not reported | $4,456 | 32% |
| SUNY at Purchase College | $52,859 | $23,947 | $18,913 | 63% |
| State University of New York at Oswego | $50,813 | $27,000 | $16,236 | 60% |
| SUNY Brockport | $50,073 | $24,627 | $16,353 | 55% |
| CUNY Lehman College | $49,025 | $12,375 | $3,148 | 51% |
| State University of New York at Plattsburgh | $40,034 | $23,125 | $17,156 | 59% |

## Careers
- Reporter / journalist (SOC 27-3023): median wage $101,670 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $100,770 NY, $62,200 U.S.; U.S. jobs -5.9% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $102,120 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $101,480 NY, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035
- Film and Video Editors (SOC 27-4032): median wage $104,590 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $103,440 NY, $75,420 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
