# Gustavus Adolphus College: Biology (bachelor's)

Saint Peter, MN. IPEDS 173647, CIP 26.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/gustavus-adolphus-college/majors/biology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $31,877
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $54,202 (U.S. median for this major: $57,996 across 837 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,640 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in MN: 18 of 21 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MN median for this major (21 colleges, $62,595): -$8,393
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,794

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.18 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $54,202 minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,015 | $50,223 | 3.1 years |
| 30-48k | $10,783 | $45,073 | 2.8 years |
| 48-75k | $13,875 | $57,997 | 3.6 years |
| 75-110k | $19,015 | $79,483 | 5.0 years |
| 110k+ | $29,674 | $124,037 | 7.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Biology at MN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of St Thomas | $71,619 | $25,970 | $29,155 | 76% |
| Saint Johns University | $71,560 | $27,000 | $25,672 | 75% |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul | $69,651 | $26,393 | $18,462 | 46% |
| Concordia College at Moorhead | $65,025 | $26,500 | $24,902 | 61% |
| St Catherine University | $64,834 | $27,000 | $19,764 | 61% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead | $64,455 | $20,000 | $17,997 | 57% |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth | $63,317 | $24,684 | $18,743 | 65% |
| Metropolitan State University | $63,149 | $28,619 | $16,863 | 44% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities | $63,132 | $21,218 | $16,778 | 85% |
| St Olaf College | $62,818 | $24,500 | $23,874 | 84% |
| Saint Cloud State University | $62,595 | $24,450 | $13,529 | 40% |
| University of Minnesota-Morris | $61,374 | $18,500 | $8,837 | 63% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato | $60,198 | $26,000 | $19,139 | 54% |
| College of Saint Benedict | $60,050 | $27,000 | $26,640 | 77% |
| Bethel University | $58,005 | $23,552 | $28,556 | 71% |
| Winona State University | $57,528 | $22,665 | $17,503 | 57% |
| Macalester College | $56,141 | $21,500 | $32,149 | 87% |
| Gustavus Adolphus College | $54,202 | $25,640 | $22,900 | 77% |
| The College of Saint Scholastica | $53,730 | $25,499 | $27,846 | 71% |
| Bemidji State University | $50,548 | $25,494 | $15,261 | 48% |
| Hamline University | $49,824 | $27,000 | $20,744 | 61% |

## Careers
- Biological technician (SOC 19-4020): median wage not reported Mankato, MN, $48,130 MN, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $63,220 Mankato, MN, $76,460 MN, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported Mankato, MN, $136,450 MN, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
