# Georgia State University: Physics (bachelor's)

Atlanta, GA. IPEDS 139940, CIP 40.08. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/georgia-state-university/majors/physics

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $31,001
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $60,393 (U.S. median for this major: $78,569 across 107 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,296 (U.S. median $23,490)
- Rank in GA: 3 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the GA median for this major (3 colleges, $82,431): -$22,038
- Versus the U.S. median: -$18,176

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.45 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $60,393 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in GA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,787 | $61,352 | 2.3 years |
| 30-48k | $14,430 | $64,214 | 2.4 years |
| 48-75k | $16,656 | $74,119 | 2.8 years |
| 75-110k | $19,390 | $86,286 | 3.2 years |
| 110k+ | $20,305 | $90,357 | 3.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Physics at GA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Georgia College & State University | $85,089 | not reported | $20,686 | 64% |
| Georgia Institute of Technology | $82,431 | $21,831 | $12,116 | 94% |
| Georgia State University | $60,393 | $26,296 | $15,931 | 53% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $77,210 Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA, $75,480 GA, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA, not reported GA, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
