# Georgia State University: Education (Subject Teaching) (bachelor's)

Atlanta, GA. IPEDS 139940, CIP 13.13. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/georgia-state-university/majors/education-subject-teaching

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $26,967
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $52,410 (U.S. median for this major: $51,003 across 343 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $28,687 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in GA: 3 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the GA median for this major (8 colleges, $51,337): +$1,073
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,407

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.45 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $52,410 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in GA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,787 | $61,352 | 3.2 years |
| 30-48k | $14,430 | $64,214 | 3.4 years |
| 48-75k | $16,656 | $74,119 | 3.9 years |
| 75-110k | $19,390 | $86,286 | 4.6 years |
| 110k+ | $20,305 | $90,357 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Education (Subject Teaching) at GA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Georgia | $56,024 | $20,750 | $13,936 | 90% |
| Kennesaw State University | $52,657 | $26,500 | $15,048 | 52% |
| Georgia State University | $52,410 | $28,687 | $15,931 | 53% |
| Valdosta State University | $51,863 | not reported | $10,945 | 42% |
| University of North Georgia | $50,811 | not reported | $9,823 | 37% |
| Georgia Southern University | $50,800 | $27,000 | $15,267 | 55% |
| Georgia Southwestern State University | $48,407 | not reported | $12,019 | 41% |
| Columbus State University | $48,125 | $28,040 | $13,115 | 42% |

## Careers
- High school teacher (SOC 25-2031): median wage $77,210 Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA, $75,480 GA, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education (SOC 25-2021): median wage $76,570 Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA, $72,290 GA, $63,970 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Coaches and Scouts (SOC 27-2022): median wage $49,750 Atlanta-Sandy Springs-Roswell, GA, $48,210 GA, $47,320 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
