# Fort Lewis College: Biology (bachelor's)

Durango, CO. IPEDS 127185, CIP 26.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/fort-lewis-college/majors/biology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $26,350
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $41,694 (U.S. median for this major: $57,996 across 837 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $18,761 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in CO: 13 of 13 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the CO median for this major (13 colleges, $55,356): -$13,662
- Versus the U.S. median: -$16,302

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.38 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $41,694 minus $40,610 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in CO (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $18,622 | $81,564 | more than 20 years |
| 30-48k | $17,014 | $74,521 | more than 20 years |
| 48-75k | $19,468 | $85,270 | more than 20 years |
| 75-110k | $19,498 | $85,401 | more than 20 years |
| 110k+ | $13,158 | $57,632 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Biology at CO colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorado College | $62,970 | $20,513 | $33,375 | 88% |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins | $60,981 | $23,009 | $21,279 | 67% |
| Colorado State University Pueblo | $58,607 | $25,829 | $10,051 | 40% |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus | $58,231 | $22,750 | $11,900 | 46% |
| Metropolitan State University of Denver | $57,920 | $29,587 | $15,327 | 32% |
| Adams State University | $56,467 | not reported | $12,980 | 39% |
| Regis University | $55,356 | $26,000 | $18,397 | 61% |
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs | $54,639 | $23,425 | $15,788 | 47% |
| University of Denver | $54,513 | $20,849 | $36,131 | 76% |
| University of Northern Colorado | $53,470 | $24,663 | $17,760 | 51% |
| Western Colorado University | $50,954 | $23,973 | $16,425 | 51% |
| Colorado Mesa University | $45,737 | $27,774 | $15,103 | 41% |
| Fort Lewis College | $41,694 | $18,761 | $17,296 | 36% |

## Careers
- Biological technician (SOC 19-4020): median wage not reported metro, $59,400 CO, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage not reported metro, $72,900 CO, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported metro, $152,730 CO, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
