# Farmingdale State College: Medical Laboratory Science (bachelor's)

Farmingdale, NY. IPEDS 196042, CIP 51.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/farmingdale-state-college/majors/medical-laboratory-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $95,766
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $104,169 (U.S. median for this major: $74,731 across 89 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,470 (U.S. median $25,892)
- Rank in NY: 5 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (8 colleges, $104,480): -$311
- Versus the U.S. median: +$29,438

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.37 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $104,169 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $4,933 | $21,557 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $6,985 | $30,524 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $11,834 | $51,715 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $14,893 | $65,082 | under 1 year |
| 110k+ | $17,919 | $78,306 | 1.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Medical Laboratory Science at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUNY York College | $122,313 | $11,000 | $4,456 | 32% |
| Stony Brook University | $110,827 | $17,538 | $18,784 | 76% |
| Mercy University | $110,519 | $31,000 | $14,072 | 46% |
| CUNY Hunter College | $104,791 | not reported | $2,984 | 57% |
| Farmingdale State College | $104,169 | $26,470 | $10,867 | 53% |
| Marist University | $101,370 | not reported | $41,544 | 80% |
| University at Buffalo | $89,223 | $21,842 | $20,995 | 75% |
| Upstate Medical University | $88,981 | $25,000 | not reported | not reported |

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
