# Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus: Communications (bachelor's)

Teaneck, NJ. IPEDS 184603, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/fairleigh-dickinson-university-metropolitan-campus/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,772
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $57,829 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NJ: 7 of 18 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NJ median for this major (18 colleges, $57,100): +$729
- Versus the U.S. median: +$3,546

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.26 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $57,829 minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NJ (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,218 | $43,529 | 2.1 years |
| 30-48k | $10,475 | $44,624 | 2.1 years |
| 48-75k | $15,057 | $64,143 | 3.0 years |
| 75-110k | $23,123 | $98,504 | 4.7 years |
| 110k+ | $28,735 | $122,411 | 5.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at NJ colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rutgers University-New Brunswick | $69,709 | $25,000 | $24,406 | 84% |
| The College of New Jersey | $68,654 | $23,000 | $27,646 | 86% |
| Rider University | $59,897 | not reported | $24,792 | 61% |
| Bloomfield College of Montclair State University | $59,247 | $24,713 | $28,014 | 38% |
| Montclair State University | $59,247 | $24,713 | $15,566 | 65% |
| Monmouth University | $58,759 | $26,380 | $30,988 | 72% |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus | $57,829 | $25,000 | $15,404 | 53% |
| Fairleigh Dickinson University-Florham Campus | $57,829 | $25,000 | $22,829 | 67% |
| Caldwell University | $57,307 | $27,000 | $24,691 | 57% |
| Ramapo College of New Jersey | $56,894 | $23,250 | $18,173 | 70% |
| Rowan University | $55,277 | $25,500 | $22,408 | 67% |
| Kean University | $54,277 | $25,250 | $12,447 | 47% |
| William Paterson University of New Jersey | $53,589 | $26,439 | $18,745 | 44% |
| Stockton University | $50,820 | $21,500 | $20,670 | 69% |
| Centenary University | $45,098 | not reported | $20,503 | 56% |
| New Jersey City University | $44,625 | $16,914 | $16,053 | 34% |
| Seton Hall University | $44,374 | not reported | $31,446 | 70% |
| Saint Peter's University | $42,264 | $18,661 | $12,199 | 58% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $84,130 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $80,130 NJ, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $82,180 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $77,170 NJ, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $102,120 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $81,680 NJ, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
