# Emerson College: Communications (bachelor's)

Boston, MA. IPEDS 165662, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/emerson-college/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $44,108
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,202 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,953 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in MA: 12 of 23 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MA median for this major (23 colleges, $59,202): +$0
- Versus the U.S. median: +$4,919

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.09 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,202 minus $39,880 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $32,650 | $133,539 | 6.9 years |
| 30-48k | $32,621 | $133,420 | 6.9 years |
| 48-75k | $41,927 | $171,481 | 8.9 years |
| 75-110k | $46,252 | $189,171 | 9.8 years |
| 110k+ | $57,288 | $234,308 | 12.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at MA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boston College | $83,586 | $18,500 | $41,704 | 91% |
| Boston University | $80,306 | $25,108 | $24,402 | 89% |
| Northeastern University | $80,191 | $23,250 | $30,915 | 91% |
| Northeastern University Professional Programs | $80,191 | $23,250 | not reported | not reported |
| Simmons University | $71,138 | $26,000 | $25,265 | 72% |
| Stonehill College | $70,618 | $25,000 | $33,016 | 76% |
| Merrimack College | $64,345 | $25,783 | $37,927 | 70% |
| Endicott College | $62,840 | $27,000 | $40,654 | 76% |
| University of Massachusetts-Amherst | $60,891 | $25,125 | $22,383 | 83% |
| University of Massachusetts-Boston | $60,411 | $26,500 | $17,707 | 49% |
| Emmanuel College | $60,110 | $27,000 | $26,706 | 68% |
| Emerson College | $59,202 | $23,953 | $49,180 | 77% |
| Bridgewater State University | $56,968 | $26,848 | $16,383 | 53% |
| Westfield State University | $56,349 | $26,000 | $16,721 | 54% |
| Lasell University | $53,172 | $27,000 | $27,511 | 59% |
| Suffolk University | $52,398 | not reported | $29,618 | 61% |
| Curry College | $52,041 | $26,000 | $29,207 | 51% |
| Fisher College | $50,535 | $27,625 | $26,649 | 28% |
| Worcester State University | $50,511 | $23,250 | $13,381 | 62% |
| Springfield College | $50,506 | $27,000 | $30,587 | 74% |
| Salem State University | $50,260 | $27,000 | $15,996 | 50% |
| Gordon College | $46,723 | $26,500 | $24,883 | 69% |
| Fitchburg State University | $46,129 | $25,000 | $14,262 | 55% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $81,440 Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH, $79,660 MA, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $80,340 Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH, $79,060 MA, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $86,410 Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH, $83,170 MA, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
