# Eastern Michigan University: Geography (bachelor's)

Ypsilanti, MI. IPEDS 169798, CIP 45.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/eastern-michigan-university/majors/geography

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,103
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $53,455 (U.S. median for this major: $57,751 across 116 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $17,425 (U.S. median $22,851)
- Rank in MI: 4 of 5 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MI median for this major (5 colleges, $56,515): -$3,060
- Versus the U.S. median: -$4,296

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.61 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $53,455 minus $33,411 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,250 | $61,083 | 3.0 years |
| 30-48k | $12,863 | $59,298 | 3.0 years |
| 48-75k | $13,748 | $63,378 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $18,243 | $84,100 | 4.2 years |
| 110k+ | $21,036 | $96,976 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Geography at MI colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Michigan University | $62,999 | $27,000 | $17,597 | 59% |
| Grand Valley State University | $61,831 | $20,500 | $16,317 | 67% |
| Michigan State University | $56,515 | not reported | $19,680 | 81% |
| Eastern Michigan University | $53,455 | $17,425 | $15,407 | 46% |
| Western Michigan University | $49,921 | $27,000 | $15,273 | 58% |

## Careers
- Cartographers and Photogrammetrists (SOC 17-1021): median wage not reported Ann Arbor, MI, $75,090 MI, $81,390 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Geographers (SOC 19-3092): median wage not reported Ann Arbor, MI, $64,700 MI, $102,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -2.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
