# Eastern Kentucky University: Chemistry (bachelor's)

Richmond, KY. IPEDS 156620, CIP 40.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/eastern-kentucky-university/majors/chemistry

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,512
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $52,216 (U.S. median for this major: $66,486 across 209 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,584 (U.S. median $23,600)
- Rank in KY: 3 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the KY median for this major (3 colleges, $65,038): -$12,822
- Versus the U.S. median: -$14,270

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.33 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $52,216 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,591 | $37,199 | 2.0 years |
| 30-48k | $8,005 | $34,662 | 1.9 years |
| 48-75k | $10,382 | $44,954 | 2.4 years |
| 75-110k | $14,384 | $62,283 | 3.3 years |
| 110k+ | $17,009 | $73,649 | 3.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Chemistry at KY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Kentucky | $73,549 | $22,500 | $18,851 | 71% |
| Northern Kentucky University | $65,038 | not reported | $8,191 | 52% |
| Eastern Kentucky University | $52,216 | $23,584 | $11,040 | 50% |

## Careers
- Chemist (SOC 19-2031): median wage not reported metro, $84,090 KY, $91,240 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage not reported metro, $61,560 KY, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage not reported metro, $91,760 KY, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
