# Dillard University: Communications (bachelor's)

New Orleans, LA. IPEDS 158802, CIP 09.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/dillard-university/majors/communications

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $18,155
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $49,103 (U.S. median for this major: $54,283 across 639 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $34,500 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in LA: 3 of 12 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the LA median for this major (12 colleges, $46,760): +$2,343
- Versus the U.S. median: -$5,180

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.26 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $49,103 minus $32,488 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in LA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,819 | $84,429 | 5.1 years |
| 30-48k | $21,094 | $89,860 | 5.4 years |
| 48-75k | $23,224 | $98,934 | 6.0 years |
| 75-110k | $26,032 | $110,896 | 6.7 years |
| 110k+ | $27,019 | $115,101 | 6.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Communications at LA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tulane University of Louisiana | $76,945 | $23,082 | $39,949 | 86% |
| Louisiana State University and Agricultural & Mechanical College | $55,245 | $22,875 | $19,151 | 69% |
| Dillard University | $49,103 | $34,500 | $22,094 | 43% |
| Southern University and A & M College | $48,264 | $31,000 | $20,077 | 27% |
| Southern University Law Center | $48,264 | $31,000 | not reported | not reported |
| McNeese State University | $47,166 | $22,625 | $12,493 | 47% |
| Nicholls State University | $46,355 | $25,000 | $12,947 | 54% |
| Southeastern Louisiana University | $46,051 | $21,660 | $13,154 | 45% |
| University of Louisiana at Lafayette | $44,432 | $27,000 | $13,530 | 53% |
| University of Louisiana at Monroe | $43,974 | $25,000 | $13,466 | 54% |
| Grambling State University | $43,324 | $36,500 | $19,809 | 36% |
| Northwestern State University of Louisiana | $37,273 | $21,750 | $13,606 | 43% |

## Careers
- Public relations specialist (SOC 27-3030): median wage $68,600 New Orleans-Metairie, LA, $60,470 LA, $74,750 U.S.; U.S. jobs 1.8% by 2035
- Fundraisers (SOC 13-1131): median wage $75,110 New Orleans-Metairie, LA, $72,030 LA, $72,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Editors (SOC 27-3041): median wage $61,260 New Orleans-Metairie, LA, $58,860 LA, $77,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
