# DePaul University: Ethnic / Gender Studies (bachelor's)

Chicago, IL. IPEDS 144740, CIP 05.02. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/depaul-university/majors/ethnic-gender-studies

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $18,029
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,016 (U.S. median for this major: $51,565 across 103 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $22,938)
- Rank in IL: 2 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IL median for this major (6 colleges, $48,097): +$10,919
- Versus the U.S. median: +$7,451

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,016 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $27,359 | $115,729 | 5.0 years |
| 30-48k | $25,950 | $109,769 | 4.7 years |
| 48-75k | $28,687 | $121,346 | 5.2 years |
| 75-110k | $31,057 | $131,371 | 5.7 years |
| 110k+ | $37,092 | $156,899 | 6.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Ethnic / Gender Studies at IL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwestern University | $59,372 | not reported | $29,167 | 95% |
| DePaul University | $59,016 | $27,000 | $30,902 | 68% |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | $50,941 | $23,402 | $14,355 | 85% |
| University of Illinois Chicago | $45,253 | $19,448 | $10,974 | 62% |
| Aurora University | $44,786 | not reported | $18,838 | 60% |
| Columbia College Chicago | $44,703 | not reported | $26,598 | 52% |

## Careers
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage $59,660 Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, $55,290 IL, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
