# Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania: Computer Science (bachelor's)

Bloomsburg, PA. IPEDS 498562, CIP 11.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/commonwealth-university-of-pennsylvania/majors/computer-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $61,299
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $85,353 (U.S. median for this major: $100,157 across 339 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $23,365)
- Rank in PA: 17 of 19 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the PA median for this major (19 colleges, $101,854): -$16,501
- Versus the U.S. median: -$14,804

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.28 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $85,353 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in PA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,374 | $48,681 | 1.0 years |
| 30-48k | $11,370 | $48,664 | 1.0 years |
| 48-75k | $13,877 | $59,394 | 1.2 years |
| 75-110k | $17,989 | $76,993 | 1.6 years |
| 110k+ | $20,099 | $86,024 | 1.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer Science at PA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carnegie Mellon University | $268,121 | $21,442 | $31,944 | 94% |
| Lehigh University | $141,691 | $23,854 | $36,931 | 88% |
| Gettysburg College | $114,433 | $27,000 | $31,490 | 83% |
| Drexel University | $113,610 | $29,333 | $38,509 | 78% |
| Saint Joseph's University - Philadelphia | $110,178 | $27,000 | $29,689 | 79% |
| University of Pittsburgh-Johnstown | $108,680 | $26,977 | $18,202 | 56% |
| University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus | $108,680 | $26,977 | $30,434 | 86% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Erie-Behrend College | $101,854 | $28,000 | $24,558 | 44% |
| Pennsylvania State University | $101,854 | $28,000 | $32,875 | 86% |
| Pennsylvania State University-Penn State Abington | $101,854 | $28,000 | $18,071 | 20% |
| York College of Pennsylvania | $100,044 | $27,000 | $18,556 | 64% |
| University of Scranton | $98,369 | $25,500 | $32,568 | 80% |
| Widener University | $96,427 | $27,000 | $25,759 | 68% |
| La Salle University | $94,659 | $27,000 | $19,409 | 57% |
| Duquesne University | $92,606 | $26,950 | $37,730 | 78% |
| Allegheny College | $86,069 | $26,500 | $22,940 | 73% |
| Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania | $85,353 | $27,000 | $15,699 | 55% |
| Messiah University | $74,941 | not reported | $26,502 | 75% |
| La Roche University | $68,248 | not reported | $20,794 | 57% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage not reported metro, $126,550 PA, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage not reported metro, $163,910 PA, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage not reported metro, $106,850 PA, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
