# Columbia University in the City of New York: English (bachelor's)

New York, NY. IPEDS 190150, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/columbia-university-in-the-city-of-new-york/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $35,838
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,396 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,500 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in NY: 14 of 48 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (48 colleges, $54,864): +$4,532
- Versus the U.S. median: +$10,448

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.19 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,396 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $4,570 | $19,148 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $2,275 | $9,532 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $5,866 | $24,579 | 1.0 years |
| 75-110k | $11,782 | $49,367 | 2.0 years |
| 110k+ | $50,621 | $212,102 | 8.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CUNY York College | $69,380 | not reported | $4,456 | 32% |
| New York University | $66,306 | $22,625 | $37,050 | 88% |
| Cornell University | $65,089 | $16,275 | $28,690 | 95% |
| Binghamton University | $64,555 | $21,500 | $21,620 | 82% |
| Fordham University | $63,834 | $27,000 | $44,338 | 82% |
| St Lawrence University | $61,335 | $26,000 | $28,651 | 79% |
| Barnard College | $61,327 | $19,000 | $28,800 | 93% |
| Colgate University | $60,702 | $15,875 | $28,786 | 91% |
| Syracuse University | $60,602 | $26,750 | $38,793 | 84% |
| Manhattan University | $60,508 | $27,000 | $27,256 | 64% |
| Vassar College | $60,461 | $19,000 | $39,343 | 91% |
| CUNY Bernard M Baruch College | $59,994 | $15,000 | $3,033 | 72% |
| CUNY Medgar Evers College | $59,650 | not reported | $5,718 | 20% |
| Columbia University in the City of New York | $59,396 | $25,500 | $21,590 | 96% |
| Siena College | $59,280 | $27,000 | $33,733 | 75% |
| St. John's University-New York | $59,267 | $27,000 | $29,999 | 66% |
| Mount Saint Mary College | $58,434 | not reported | $25,522 | 66% |
| Mercy University | $57,069 | $27,000 | $14,072 | 46% |
| CUNY John Jay College of Criminal Justice | $56,768 | $9,848 | $3,203 | 56% |
| CUNY Hunter College | $55,759 | $12,431 | $2,984 | 57% |
| Hobart William Smith Colleges | $55,440 | $27,000 | $31,563 | 77% |
| Le Moyne College | $55,364 | $27,000 | $22,277 | 73% |
| Stony Brook University | $55,210 | $21,606 | $18,784 | 76% |
| Hofstra University | $55,054 | $24,485 | $34,176 | 69% |
| CUNY Lehman College | $54,674 | $11,391 | $3,148 | 51% |
| St. John Fisher University | $54,602 | $23,625 | $28,945 | 74% |
| State University of New York at Plattsburgh | $54,281 | $21,024 | $17,156 | 59% |
| CUNY Brooklyn College | $54,014 | $11,557 | $3,103 | 54% |
| University of Rochester | $53,702 | $21,000 | $29,278 | 85% |
| SUNY Old Westbury | $53,652 | $16,912 | $11,282 | 45% |
| Nazareth University | $53,423 | $27,000 | $29,357 | 73% |
| College of Staten Island CUNY | $53,083 | $17,371 | $5,579 | 34% |
| St. Joseph's University-New York | $51,715 | $23,125 | $19,035 | 69% |
| University at Buffalo | $51,385 | $19,583 | $20,995 | 75% |
| University at Albany | $51,206 | $26,000 | $17,167 | 62% |
| Skidmore College | $51,029 | $20,000 | $32,297 | 83% |
| CUNY Queens College | $50,194 | $9,500 | $4,195 | 53% |
| SUNY Oneonta | $48,926 | $24,920 | $19,158 | 69% |
| SUNY College at Potsdam | $48,920 | $30,000 | $13,624 | 45% |
| CUNY City College | $47,753 | $13,782 | $3,776 | 57% |
| SUNY College at Geneseo | $47,460 | $23,500 | $18,211 | 72% |
| Marist University | $47,170 | $27,000 | $41,544 | 80% |
| Dominican University New York | $45,986 | $28,500 | $41,832 | 53% |
| Canisius University | $45,180 | not reported | $17,940 | 66% |
| State University of New York at New Paltz | $45,024 | $25,000 | $18,809 | 72% |
| SUNY Brockport | $43,956 | $26,090 | $16,353 | 55% |
| SUNY at Fredonia | $40,929 | $26,000 | $15,897 | 50% |
| State University of New York at Oswego | $40,431 | $26,289 | $16,236 | 60% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $100,800 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $97,070 NY, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage $59,740 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $59,740 NY, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
