# Columbia University in the City of New York: Computer Science (bachelor's)

New York, NY. IPEDS 190150, CIP 11.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/columbia-university-in-the-city-of-new-york/majors/computer-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $118,636
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $188,265 (U.S. median for this major: $100,157 across 339 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,397 (U.S. median $23,365)
- Rank in NY: 2 of 20 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (20 colleges, $112,398): +$75,867
- Versus the U.S. median: +$88,108

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.19 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $188,265 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $4,570 | $19,148 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $2,275 | $9,532 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $5,866 | $24,579 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $11,782 | $49,367 | under 1 year |
| 110k+ | $50,621 | $212,102 | 1.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer Science at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cornell University | $223,309 | $14,698 | $28,690 | 95% |
| Columbia University in the City of New York | $188,265 | $20,397 | $21,590 | 96% |
| Colgate University | $161,980 | $16,000 | $28,786 | 91% |
| University of Rochester | $155,464 | $19,000 | $29,278 | 85% |
| Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute | $141,528 | $23,250 | $36,228 | 84% |
| Rochester Institute of Technology | $135,702 | $27,000 | $34,906 | 70% |
| Binghamton University | $126,183 | $19,500 | $21,620 | 82% |
| Pace University | $117,835 | $20,750 | $30,892 | 60% |
| CUNY City College | $116,238 | $8,623 | $3,776 | 57% |
| CUNY Queens College | $112,903 | $13,500 | $4,195 | 53% |
| Marist University | $111,893 | $25,897 | $41,544 | 80% |
| University at Buffalo | $105,160 | $20,500 | $20,995 | 75% |
| Clarkson University | $103,132 | $25,990 | $30,305 | 75% |
| CUNY Hunter College | $102,321 | $8,250 | $2,984 | 57% |
| Ithaca College | $98,373 | $21,000 | $33,926 | 76% |
| College of Staten Island CUNY | $89,093 | $19,046 | $5,579 | 34% |
| Hofstra University | $88,137 | $26,000 | $34,176 | 69% |
| CUNY Lehman College | $85,351 | $13,317 | $3,148 | 51% |
| Touro University | $84,481 | not reported | $29,627 | 72% |
| CUNY York College | $73,044 | not reported | $4,456 | 32% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $166,830 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $166,180 NY, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $215,300 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $214,300 NY, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage $135,980 New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ, $130,460 NY, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
