# Columbia College: Sociology (bachelor's)

Columbia, MO. IPEDS 177065, CIP 45.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/columbia-college-mo/majors/sociology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $37,758
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $49,542 (U.S. median for this major: $52,120 across 458 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $32,276 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in MO: 4 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MO median for this major (10 colleges, $44,769): +$4,773
- Versus the U.S. median: -$2,578

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.33 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $49,542 minus $35,438 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MO (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $23,967 | $103,777 | 7.4 years |
| 30-48k | $21,168 | $91,657 | 6.5 years |
| 48-75k | $21,550 | $93,312 | 6.6 years |
| 75-110k | $23,015 | $99,655 | 7.1 years |
| 110k+ | $21,545 | $93,290 | 6.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sociology at MO colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Missouri-Columbia | $55,098 | $22,500 | $20,268 | 75% |
| Truman State University | $52,584 | not reported | $12,780 | 69% |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City | $49,936 | $20,799 | $13,310 | 56% |
| Columbia College | $49,542 | $32,276 | $22,715 | 42% |
| University of Central Missouri | $45,862 | $24,100 | $14,462 | 54% |
| Drury University | $43,676 | $33,900 | $20,831 | 62% |
| Drury University-College of Continuing Professional Studies | $43,676 | $33,900 | $10,566 | 43% |
| Missouri State University-Springfield | $43,425 | $25,191 | $17,613 | 58% |
| Missouri Southern State University | $40,957 | not reported | $12,007 | 42% |
| University of Missouri-St Louis | $39,878 | $26,686 | $15,071 | 57% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage $65,050 Columbia, MO, $65,940 MO, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
