# Buena Vista University: Human Resources (bachelor's)

Storm Lake, IA. IPEDS 153001, CIP 52.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/buena-vista-university/majors/human-resources

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: not reported
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $56,329 (U.S. median for this major: $68,118 across 170 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,312 (U.S. median $26,486)
- Rank in IA: 6 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IA median for this major (6 colleges, $63,210): -$6,881
- Versus the U.S. median: -$11,789

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.31 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $56,329 minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,901 | $55,603 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $14,838 | $63,952 | 3.3 years |
| 48-75k | $18,094 | $77,985 | 4.0 years |
| 75-110k | $19,571 | $84,351 | 4.3 years |
| 110k+ | $24,967 | $107,608 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Human Resources at IA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Iowa | $77,659 | $23,149 | $22,531 | 75% |
| Upper Iowa University | $64,706 | $41,006 | $20,942 | 34% |
| University of Dubuque | $64,648 | $27,000 | $23,386 | 40% |
| Mount Mercy University | $61,772 | $29,225 | $20,168 | 58% |
| Grand View University | $58,176 | $27,375 | $21,774 | 54% |
| Buena Vista University | $56,329 | $27,312 | $18,846 | 62% |

## Careers
- HR specialist (SOC 13-1071): median wage not reported metro, $66,710 IA, $75,940 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.4% by 2035
- Training and Development Specialists (SOC 13-1151): median wage not reported metro, $66,110 IA, $69,280 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.8% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $75,620 IA, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
