# Brigham Young University: Political Science (bachelor's)

Provo, UT. IPEDS 230038, CIP 45.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/brigham-young-university/majors/political-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $47,020
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $83,209 (U.S. median for this major: $61,935 across 561 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $11,745 (U.S. median $23,457)
- Rank in UT: 1 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the UT median for this major (4 colleges, $69,600): +$13,609
- Versus the U.S. median: +$21,274

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 5 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $83,209 minus $38,580 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in UT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,444 | $52,220 | 1.2 years |
| 30-48k | $10,112 | $50,560 | 1.1 years |
| 48-75k | $13,062 | $65,310 | 1.5 years |
| 75-110k | $16,378 | $81,890 | 1.8 years |
| 110k+ | $20,542 | $102,710 | 2.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Political Science at UT colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brigham Young University | $83,209 | $11,745 | $15,564 | 81% |
| Utah State University | $70,711 | $17,581 | $14,936 | 59% |
| University of Utah | $68,490 | $18,370 | $16,200 | 65% |
| Utah Valley University | $61,464 | $21,413 | $6,376 | 45% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $75,230 Provo-Orem-Lehi, UT, $76,330 UT, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported Provo-Orem-Lehi, UT, not reported UT, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
