# Black Hills State University: Special Education (bachelor's)

Spearfish, SD. IPEDS 219046, CIP 13.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/black-hills-state-university/majors/special-education

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $49,134
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $48,332 (U.S. median for this major: $51,258 across 175 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,812 (U.S. median $26,602)
- Rank in SD: 1 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the SD median for this major (3 colleges, $46,095): +$2,237
- Versus the U.S. median: -$2,926

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.48 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $48,332 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in SD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $11,863 | $53,146 | 4.2 years |
| 30-48k | $13,379 | $59,938 | 4.8 years |
| 48-75k | $15,588 | $69,834 | 5.6 years |
| 75-110k | $18,072 | $80,963 | 6.5 years |
| 110k+ | $18,604 | $83,346 | 6.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Special Education at SD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Black Hills State University | $48,332 | $26,812 | $15,911 | 43% |
| Dakota State University | $46,095 | $31,000 | $21,057 | 51% |
| University of South Dakota | $45,415 | $27,000 | $19,858 | 60% |

## Careers
- Special education teacher (SOC 25-2052): median wage not reported metro, $51,090 SD, $65,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage not reported metro, $53,140 SD, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
