# Binghamton University: Biochemistry (bachelor's)

Vestal, NY. IPEDS 196079, CIP 26.02. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/binghamton-university/majors/biochemistry

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,305
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $64,737 (U.S. median for this major: $65,097 across 110 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $18,139 (U.S. median $21,626)
- Rank in NY: 2 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (4 colleges, $63,588): +$1,149
- Versus the U.S. median: -$360

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.09 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $64,737 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,171 | $49,779 | 1.7 years |
| 30-48k | $15,281 | $62,499 | 2.1 years |
| 48-75k | $20,347 | $83,219 | 2.8 years |
| 75-110k | $23,533 | $96,250 | 3.2 years |
| 110k+ | $28,475 | $116,463 | 3.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Biochemistry at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York University | $68,690 | $20,746 | $37,050 | 88% |
| Binghamton University | $64,737 | $18,139 | $21,620 | 82% |
| CUNY City College | $62,440 | not reported | $3,776 | 57% |
| Stony Brook University | $60,648 | $18,968 | $18,784 | 76% |

## Careers
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported Binghamton, NY, $134,680 NY, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Biological Technicians (SOC 19-4021): median wage not reported Binghamton, NY, $61,210 NY, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Microbiologists (SOC 19-1022): median wage not reported Binghamton, NY, $81,090 NY, $87,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
