# Auburn University: Political Science (bachelor's)

Auburn, AL. IPEDS 100858, CIP 45.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/auburn-university/majors/political-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $32,228
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $63,178 (U.S. median for this major: $61,935 across 561 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,700 (U.S. median $23,457)
- Rank in AL: 2 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (6 colleges, $59,479): +$3,699
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,243

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.32 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $63,178 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,681 | $72,062 | 2.3 years |
| 30-48k | $17,627 | $76,149 | 2.4 years |
| 48-75k | $20,558 | $88,811 | 2.8 years |
| 75-110k | $25,808 | $111,491 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $29,547 | $127,643 | 4.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Political Science at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tuskegee University | $66,391 | not reported | $35,013 | 55% |
| Auburn University | $63,178 | $23,700 | $24,323 | 82% |
| The University of Alabama | $61,617 | $23,785 | $22,420 | 73% |
| Troy University | $57,341 | $27,874 | $16,527 | 50% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $44,493 | $23,250 | $18,749 | 64% |
| University of North Alabama | $43,706 | $21,449 | $12,170 | 55% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $61,250 Auburn-Opelika, AL, $61,990 AL, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported Auburn-Opelika, AL, $53,080 AL, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
