# Athens State University: English (bachelor's)

Athens, AL. IPEDS 100812, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/athens-state-university/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $40,917
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $47,773 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,833 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in AL: 3 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (9 colleges, $46,923): +$850
- Versus the U.S. median: -$1,175

## English at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of South Alabama | $51,718 | $23,505 | $17,648 | 53% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $48,706 | $24,946 | $18,749 | 64% |
| Athens State University | $47,773 | $26,833 | not reported | not reported |
| University of North Alabama | $47,150 | $25,000 | $12,170 | 55% |
| Troy University | $46,923 | $25,924 | $16,527 | 50% |
| The University of Alabama | $44,278 | $22,250 | $22,420 | 73% |
| Auburn University | $44,158 | $25,000 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Jacksonville State University | $42,655 | $23,267 | $14,279 | 55% |
| University of Montevallo | $35,858 | not reported | $17,683 | 54% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $64,220 Huntsville, AL, $61,990 AL, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported Huntsville, AL, not reported AL, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
