# Athens State University: Computer and Information Sciences (bachelor's)

Athens, AL. IPEDS 100812, CIP 11.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/athens-state-university/majors/computer-and-information-sciences

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $78,435
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $102,639 (U.S. median for this major: $86,698 across 421 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $31,060 (U.S. median $24,656)
- Rank in AL: 3 of 11 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (11 colleges, $88,490): +$14,149
- Versus the U.S. median: +$15,941

## Computer and Information Sciences at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama | $115,980 | $22,000 | $22,420 | 73% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $104,654 | $24,000 | $18,749 | 64% |
| Athens State University | $102,639 | $31,060 | not reported | not reported |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | $95,076 | $22,000 | $18,796 | 64% |
| Auburn University | $91,087 | $25,000 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Alabama A & M University | $88,490 | $31,000 | $17,621 | 24% |
| University of North Alabama | $80,423 | $27,000 | $12,170 | 55% |
| Troy University | $79,492 | $27,437 | $16,527 | 50% |
| Jacksonville State University | $79,129 | $23,578 | $14,279 | 55% |
| University of South Alabama | $59,602 | $27,000 | $17,648 | 53% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | $55,184 | $41,176 | $13,224 | 33% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $128,080 Huntsville, AL, $122,540 AL, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $164,060 Huntsville, AL, $138,670 AL, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Computer Systems Analysts (SOC 15-1211): median wage $107,350 Huntsville, AL, $101,770 AL, $105,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
