# Athens State University: Accounting (bachelor's)

Athens, AL. IPEDS 100812, CIP 52.03. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/athens-state-university/majors/accounting

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $46,577
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $63,516 (U.S. median for this major: $74,373 across 741 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $30,500 (U.S. median $24,903)
- Rank in AL: 10 of 18 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (18 colleges, $63,963): -$447
- Versus the U.S. median: -$10,857

## Accounting at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samford University | $90,572 | not reported | $32,622 | 77% |
| The University of Alabama | $87,621 | $23,000 | $22,420 | 73% |
| Auburn University | $86,222 | $23,250 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Tuskegee University | $74,078 | not reported | $35,013 | 55% |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | $71,245 | $25,000 | $18,796 | 64% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $69,201 | $34,288 | $18,749 | 64% |
| Troy University | $67,190 | $25,000 | $16,527 | 50% |
| Huntingdon College | $65,820 | not reported | $22,566 | 48% |
| University of South Alabama | $64,410 | $27,000 | $17,648 | 53% |
| Athens State University | $63,516 | $30,500 | not reported | not reported |
| Alabama State University | $63,070 | $30,750 | $20,435 | 30% |
| Jacksonville State University | $62,589 | $20,500 | $14,279 | 55% |
| Alabama A & M University | $61,503 | $28,049 | $17,621 | 24% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | $58,430 | $26,528 | $13,224 | 33% |
| University of West Alabama | $58,218 | not reported | $12,684 | 35% |
| University of Montevallo | $57,747 | not reported | $17,683 | 54% |
| University of North Alabama | $56,814 | $21,125 | $12,170 | 55% |
| Herzing University-Birmingham | $54,345 | not reported | $19,651 | 13% |

## Careers
- Accountant / auditor (SOC 13-2010): median wage $79,220 Huntsville, AL, $74,880 AL, $83,680 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035
- Financial Managers (SOC 11-3031): median wage $158,620 Huntsville, AL, $140,500 AL, $166,570 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.7% by 2035
- Financial and Investment Analysts (SOC 13-2051): median wage $99,400 Huntsville, AL, $91,290 AL, $102,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
