# Appalachian State University: Theatre (bachelor's)

Boone, NC. IPEDS 197869, CIP 50.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/appalachian-state-university/majors/theatre

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $20,256
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $44,986 (U.S. median for this major: $40,085 across 251 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,755 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NC: 2 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NC median for this major (8 colleges, $41,235): +$3,751
- Versus the U.S. median: +$4,901

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $44,986 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,325 | $39,445 | 3.4 years |
| 30-48k | $11,600 | $49,068 | 4.3 years |
| 48-75k | $15,204 | $64,313 | 5.6 years |
| 75-110k | $20,840 | $88,153 | 7.7 years |
| 110k+ | $22,382 | $94,676 | 8.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Theatre at NC colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of North Carolina School of the Arts | $48,664 | $24,592 | $14,906 | 78% |
| Appalachian State University | $44,986 | $24,755 | $16,836 | 75% |
| East Carolina University | $41,394 | $27,000 | $15,739 | 63% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | $41,362 | $15,613 | $11,655 | 91% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | $41,108 | $25,914 | $10,965 | 56% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte | $39,725 | $26,000 | $15,435 | 69% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | $35,956 | $25,000 | $20,109 | 71% |
| Western Carolina University | $34,516 | $26,000 | $13,315 | 60% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage not reported metro, $63,700 NC, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Writers and Authors (SOC 27-3043): median wage not reported metro, $63,660 NC, $76,910 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.3% by 2035
- Fashion Designers (SOC 27-1022): median wage not reported metro, $74,990 NC, $80,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs 0.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
