# Appalachian State University: Apparel and Textiles (bachelor's)

Boone, NC. IPEDS 197869, CIP 19.09. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/appalachian-state-university/majors/apparel-and-textiles

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $36,945
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $58,516 (U.S. median for this major: $58,046 across 56 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,000 (U.S. median $24,750)
- Rank in NC: 1 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NC median for this major (3 colleges, $56,134): +$2,382
- Versus the U.S. median: +$470

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $58,516 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,325 | $39,445 | 1.6 years |
| 30-48k | $11,600 | $49,068 | 2.0 years |
| 48-75k | $15,204 | $64,313 | 2.6 years |
| 75-110k | $20,840 | $88,153 | 3.5 years |
| 110k+ | $22,382 | $94,676 | 3.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Apparel and Textiles at NC colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Appalachian State University | $58,516 | $26,000 | $16,836 | 75% |
| East Carolina University | $56,134 | $26,000 | $15,739 | 63% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | $51,510 | $26,000 | $10,965 | 56% |

## Careers
- Market Research Analysts and Marketing Specialists (SOC 13-1161): median wage not reported metro, $78,410 NC, $78,760 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7% by 2035
- Marketing Managers (SOC 11-2021): median wage not reported metro, $165,480 NC, $166,790 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.9% by 2035
- Interior Designers (SOC 27-1025): median wage not reported metro, $61,400 NC, $67,190 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
